Oh yeah, I almost forgot. He was a crackhead too.

Howdy folks.

It’s almost been a month since my last post and quite a good deal in the land of OkCupid has happened. I don’t want to write a novel, so I’ll just sum up the highlights by noting the notables.

  • I was polyamorous with a married man for a hot minute.
  • I watched a beautiful stranger eat pizza in Kansas City.
  • I received this poem in a message:

The Raspberries Belong to No One

They are wild alongside the road.
The July light seems to gather
Around the seductive bunches of red.

I know where great patches grow–
Far from town, thick in the canyons,
Dancing under summer stars.

I sing while I slowly walk,
Picking the berries, enjoying a day
For what tastes it contains.

I wander like a bear,
Tongue lolling out, red
Juices dripping down my chin.

When I come out of the woods
Summer shall be over.
My fingers shall remain stained for months.

The night will begin to stretch
Across the sky like a vine.
The stars shall grow and dangle in clusters.

And secreted in my chest,
I will carry a Raspberry Heart–
Like a wild rhythm echoing in the dark.

I think you’ve been caught up to speed now. I NEED to tell you all about yesterday.

Yesterday I went on a date. I don’t usually meet folks off of OkCupid in person unless I’ve had a little bit of conversation via the website first. This is mainly due to my wanting to find out if they can carry on a grammatically correct conversation and I need to know if we have anything worthy of talking about in person. I know, weird, right?

Yesterday I decided to switch things up though and meet someone with little to no previous conversation in person. I knew practically nothing about this guy before meeting him for brunch at The Roost. It all started with the following message:

I like pancakes. Do you like pancakes?

I thought to myself, LET’S GET WEIRD, so I decided to actually respond. To give myself some credit I don’t usually respond to messages like this. We exchanged about 6 messages about pancakes and the different ways to enjoy pancakes as well as the different varieties of pancakes, of course, before I messaged him asking if he would like to get pancakes with me. We set the date/time and I actually showed up. I contemplated standing him up, but Sunday I woke up with quite the hankering for pancakes, so I put on a hoodie and headed downtown. My roommate warned me ‘I was asking for it’ by embarking on such an endeavor, but what I encountered was leaps and bounds beyond my wildest dreams. I feel like a found a fucking unicorn folks. I promise you I am not making any of this up. 

T is a twenty year old male who lives in Olathe, KS in a two bedroom apartment with 5 other friends. He sleeps on a couch when he is not working at the local cinema. When asked how he typically spends his days, T says that after working until about midnight, he comes home and plays Call of Duty until 3 or 4 in the morning – taking breaks only to eat, shit, and watch YouTube videos about other people playing video games. Occasionally, T does fire spinning at the Renaissance Festival. He does have a felony charge on his record for assault with a deadly weapon and making a terrorist threat i.e. after getting into a fight with someone, he threatened to cut their tongue out of their face with a knife. T has gone to therapy and anger management however so he has been accepted in the Army and will be going to boot camp very soon. T is a juggalo, graphic novel consumer, and a Brony. For those who might not know what a brony is, please check out this website: http://whatisabrony.com/    T is not a participant of the incest which occurs in his family. He feels confident in not being attracted to his 15 year old cousin. Oh yeah, I almost forgot. He was a crackhead too. Through the demonstration of sheer will power, T has been able to rid himself of the desire to smoke crack. 

According to OkCupid, T and I are a 77% Match. Unfortunately, T and I were unable to hang out for longer than a few hours. I think if we had spent a little longer together we may have found out what that 77% includes exactly. 

I can only think of three words which accurately sum up my feelings about yesterday.

God. Bless. America.

3 (This isn’t a photo of the guy. Just another random OkCupider.)

Keep it weird y’all,

Jess

About Jess

It's about time we became comfortable with the uncomfortable.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Oh yeah, I almost forgot. He was a crackhead too.

Leave a Reply

